My 4 Year Wait Is Over!

I have a confession to make: when it comes to New Testament Greek, I’m a total dweeb. My wife bought me my first Greek New Testament 4 years ago when we were dating; it was the wide-margin edition of the 27th edition of Nestle-Aland’s Novum Testamentum Graece. (I have to say, hon, it was a pretty sweet gift!)

But when she went online to buy, she came back and asked me if I needed the 27th edition or the 28th edition; needless to say, I was floored. I knew that the 27th edition had been around since about 1993, but had no idea that there was a 28th edition in the works. I’m sure those of you who aren’t total dweebs like myself are wondering, “What’s the big deal?” Simply put, the big deal is this: between the 26th and 27th edition of the Nestle-Aland text, there were no changes to the actual readings. The only thing that changed between those two editions was a completely updated textual apparatus. The reason was that the Institut für neutestamentliche Textforschung in Germany has been working for several years on the ECM project (Editio Critica Maior), which “is intended to cite a more complete list of variant readings than can be incorporated in a manual edition.”

Now that the ECM work has been done on the Catholic Epistles, the upper-level text of those Epistles will reflect the work done in the ECM project.

The other reason that this is a big deal is that for the first time, the readings of the newly discovered Papyri 117-127 are listed in the apparatus, opening up interesting perspectives – particularly for the Acts of the Apostles.

In short, our understanding of the text-history of the Greek New Testament is continuing to grow, and the NA28 is going to reflect our growing knowledge. For that, we should all be incredibly thankful…

6 thoughts on “My 4 Year Wait Is Over!

"I appeal to you, brothers, to watch out for those who cause divisions and create obstacles contrary to the doctrine that you have been taught; avoid them. For such persons do not serve our Lord Christ, but their own appetites, and by smooth talk and flattery they deceive the hearts of the naïve." (Romans 16:17-18) Please read "The Comments Policy."

