Amazon Screwed Me Over

Screen Shot 2013-01-15 at 10.16.49 AMAs I write this post, I’m so angry that my hands are shaking and my vision has spots in it. I haven’t been this mad in over a decade – in fact, mad doesn’t even begin to cover it. I’m !@#$%ing livid.

Some of you are aware of how excited I was to hear that the 28th edition of the Nestle-Aland Novum Testamentum Graece was being released. In fact, I was so excited that I signed up for a seminar on Problems in Early Christian Literature that cost me almost $1788 (once you add up the tuition and fees), which was even more exciting as fully two-thirds of the seminar was going to be dealing with the Geographic-Based Coherence-Modeling that forms the backbone of the NA28. For a guy pursuing a Th.M in New Testament, this was a big freaking deal.

When I originally placed my order with Amazon, my NA28 was supposed to arrive on January 3rd. Given that we were going to be out-of-town, I had the shipping address changed from our home to my parents home, whom we were visiting. But when I changed the shipping address, the arrival date for the package changed from January 3rd to January 8th. Given the fact that we were going to be back at our home by the 8th of January, I just changed the shipping address back to what it had been originally. No big deal.

Then on January 7th, my wife mentioned that we hadn’t gotten any emails from Amazon indicating that the order had shipped. So I proceeded to go online and check the status of my order. Now Amazon was saying it would arrive sometime between the 8th and the 13th. Now we’ve got a serious problem, as I was required to have my copy of the NA28 for this seminar, and it started on the morning of the 7th. So I contacted the professor teaching the seminar, and he told me not to be too worried, because we weren’t going to be covering the issues related to the NA28 until the following week, and as long as I had my NA28 in hand by the morning of the 14th, everything would be fine.

And then on the 12th, I still hadn’t gotten word from Amazon that the order had shipped, so I called them. I was told that the problem was that it took 1-3 weeks for the NA28 to ship, and that the 1-3 week time frame was because that was the turn-around time for Amazon to receive the product from the supplier, package it, and get it ready to ship. I pointed out that my order was placed on October 11th, which was significantly longer than 1-3 weeks – in fact it was right at 13 weeks!

So David, the very nice young man I was talking to from Amazon.com, told me that my shipment absolutely, without question, would be in my hands by Tuesday, January 15. I didn’t get any emails last night, either, so I went online when I got up this morning I went to check the status of the order. This is what I saw:

Screen Shot 2013-01-15 at 10.27.03 AM

I’ll have you not that at this time yesterday, the NA28 was not listed as temporarily out of stock. Now I’m being told by Amazon that they have no idea when I’ll get my order, but the earliest date that they believe that is likely is February 14th, and my only options are to wait for the order to come in or cancel the order.

After calling my professor, I now can’t participate in the seminar because I don’t have the necessary materials to take part. So I’m out the $1788 for the seminar and still don’t have my Greek New Testament.

Anybody think Amazon will refund the tuition that I’m out because they can’t keep their word?

"I appeal to you, brothers, to watch out for those who cause divisions and create obstacles contrary to the doctrine that you have been taught; avoid them. For such persons do not serve our Lord Christ, but their own appetites, and by smooth talk and flattery they deceive the hearts of the naïve." (Romans 16:17-18) Please read "The Comments Policy."

