An Award…Or Something

Liebster 2013My frequent commenter and pal Joseph Richardson from The Lonely Pilgrim has nominated me for the Liebster Award, which is meant to recognize those less well-known blogs so that they might receive the attention that (some) think they are due…or something like that, anyway.

In reality, from what I can gather, there is no actual award, per se; rather, it seems to be and expression of admiration and/or respect from another blogger. It seems that the earliest mention of the award is from a German blogspot blog back in 2009, and the rules have changed significantly since it first started.

Now that the history is done with, I suppose I should thank Joseph for getting me into this predicament, and promise that I won’t challenge him to a duel with pistols at dawn for sucking me into what is effectively a blogging chain letter.

Fun Facts about B.M. Palmer

  1. One of the things that I don’t talk about really at all, but that my wife thinks I should mention, is that I spent one month less than five years in the United States Army. I spent a whole lot of time downrange (more than I was home, in fact) and was discharged while serving in Afghanistan during Operation Enduring Freedom, in 2002.
  2.  I learned two things about myself in the Army: first, I love firearms and I’m pretty talented with them. Second, I really don’t do wildlife.
  3. My book habit is a little bit unreasonable. Over the last 5 years I’ve read an average of 450 books a year. Stephen King, A.J. Quinnell, and Richard Stark are particular favorites in fiction authors.
  4. Not unlike Mr. Richardson, I was born and raised in the South, namely South Carolina, where my familial progenitors settled over two centuries ago. The earliest date in the family grave yard is 1692.
  5. I was adopted when I was six-weeks-old, and in the last eight months tracked down my entire biological family, which has been amazing and stressful all at the same time.
  6. A side effect of being adopted is that I am (also much like Mr. Richardson) obsessed with my family’s genealogy and history. One of the most interesting things that I discovered was that my grandfather, a World War II veteran who never talked about the war, was a founding member of the 82nd Airborne Division. He pinned on my wings when I graduated from Airborne School, and that’s when I found out. The instructors treated him like he was a demigod.
  7. I also discovered in the Army that I really enjoyed jumping out of airplanes that worked just fine.
  8. I have several pieces of shrapnel in my back, part of a bullet under one arm, and wrecked knees. Needless to say, I live in a state of near constant pain, but I’m too scared of having surgery to have anything done about it.
  9. I find blogging enjoyable but it’s difficult for me to find the time to sit down and write for Southern Reformation since I’m also in the middle of writing my Master of Theology (Th.M.) thesis.
  10. I dream about writing and subsequently publishing a piece of dark, violent, and taunt piece of fiction. I’m told that I write pretty well, and a small group of friends has been encouraging me to publish for about a decade.
  11. I have discovered in the last two years that I don’t just enjoy teaching Greek exegesis, but that I’m also pretty good at it. I find it to be the only rush comparable to preaching.

Joseph’s Questions:

  1. How long have you been a Christian? How long have you been in the particular faith tradition you’re now in, and was there any journey involved in getting there? I’ve been a Christian for about 10 years, and a Presbyterian by conviction for about 7 years. And there was a significant journey involved in coming to Presbyterian and Reformed convictions.
  2. Do you have a favorite bird? Why that one, or why not? No favorite bird for me, since I despise birds of all types.
  3. What kinds of music do you listen to? My taste is pretty eclectic, but I tend to listen to a lot of blues, New Orleans style jazz, and early rock and roll. I also have something of an obsession with Rachmaninoff’s piano concertos.
  4. What languages do you know, and how well? Obviously, I read Ancient Hebrew and Koine Greek. I’m fluent in Gullah, Italian, and French. I have a certain amount of conversational ability in Spanish, Russian, and oddly enough, Yoruba and Igbo.
  5. Who is your favorite super hero, and why? When I was in middle school, I was an inveterate comic book reader, and I still love them even now. Wolverine was always my favorite.
  6. Do you like breakfast, and if so, what’s your favorite thing to eat for breakfast? If I don’t wake up before 5 a.m., I rarely bother with breakfast. If I do, however, it’s almost always a trip to Bojangle’s for two sausage biscuits.
  7. What’s your favorite book of the Bible, and why? I love the Psalms, and Romans and Isaiah are probably tied for second. The Psalms come in first because I find them to be the treasury of Christian experience. Every movement of the soul captured by Christ can be found in them.
  8. What about biblical people: Who are your favorite people in the Old and New Testaments, respectively? (If you pick Jesus, pick a second one, too — He kind of has an unfair advantage.) My favorite biblical personality is Uriah the Hittite. I’ll let y’all ponder why that might be.
  9. What Bible translations, revisions, or editions do you prefer? Hmm. For my own reading, the American Standard Version of 1901. For preaching, either the New American Standard Version (1995 update), or the King James.
  10. Coffee, or tea, or both, or neither? (And if neither, what in the world do you drink?) I gave up coffee about six years ago, and I’ve never been much of a hot tea guy. I drink a lot of ice water and Gatorade. If I’m having a meal, sweetened iced tea with lemon, or Coke.
  11. Do you know your personality type, by the Meiers-Briggs Type Indicator? What about your Temperament? By the Meiers-Briggs, I’m and ISTJ (a.k.a., “The Examiner”). My temperament is choleric.
2 thoughts on “An Award…Or Something

  1. You definitely out-language me and probably out-Southern me. 😀 Maybe it’s just that I’ve never been around it, but Gullah seems to me to reach back into the centuries. I think my earliest documentable ancestors in the Carolinas were Revolutionary soldiers.

    • I t’engk’gawd one l’aan da Gullah since binnuh chile.

      You’ll have to message me sometime if you think you’ll be in the great and sovereign state of South Carolina –– I’ll be sure to put some bourbon in the fridge and cook up a mess of hushpuppies and Carolina-style barbeque.

"I appeal to you, brothers, to watch out for those who cause divisions and create obstacles contrary to the doctrine that you have been taught; avoid them. For such persons do not serve our Lord Christ, but their own appetites, and by smooth talk and flattery they deceive the hearts of the naïve." (Romans 16:17-18) Please read "The Comments Policy."

