Thoughts on 2013, and Goals for 2014

hand_with_reflecting_globe_by_gzertklThe end of 2013 is in sight. Here at Southern Reformation, things have been fairly quiet. I’ve spent the last eight months (more or less) buried in writing and editing my thesis, so I’ve not been posting with any regularity—which is something you have my apologies for incidentally.

I’m going to be out of town between now and the first week of 2014, so that means I won’t be posting here at all, unless the mood strikes me strongly.

Since we’re coming up on the beginning of a new year (and boy, did 2013 fly by!), there are some things I’d like to accomplish in the next year over here at Southern Reformation.

So what changes are coming, and will they effect you, Constant Reader?

But before we talk about the upcoming year, I have some unfinished business from 2013 that I need to take care of.

First, I need to offer my apologies to Joseph, who along with Richard, has been the most frequent commenter on this blog apart from me.

I know that Joseph has wanted me to reply to some thoughts and questions he’s posed to me in comment threads, and I’ve had every intention of doing so…and yet have still utterly failed to follow up on my good intentions. For that, Mr. Richardson, I’m very, very sorry. Rest assured I haven’t forgotten your questions, and D.V., I will be responding to them sometime at the beginning of 2014. In fact, there are a couple of posts over at The Lonely Pilgrim that I’ve been ruminating on for some time, and may for the basis for a series of posts here in the new year.

That being said, here’s what I hope to accomplish in the New Year:

  1. Interact with Joseph’s thoughts (and questions) on Calvinism, and perhaps try to post some thoughts on Sola Scriptura, as well.
  2. I’d like to post a series on baptism in Presbyterian and Reformed theology, as I think it would be helpful on two fronts. First for our credo-baptist friends, since (speaking as one who was raised in the Baptist church) there is a great deal of confusion about the Presbyterian practice. Second, for my Roman friends, since we both baptize infants, but define sacraments so differently.
  3. I’d also like to continue working through Romans 9, since I’ve not been able to return to that series from some time.
  4. Finally, I’m considering putting up a post every week, working through the Heidelberg Catechism.

If you have any thoughts about a specific topic you’d like me to write about, leave your ideas in the comments section.

"I appeal to you, brothers, to watch out for those who cause divisions and create obstacles contrary to the doctrine that you have been taught; avoid them. For such persons do not serve our Lord Christ, but their own appetites, and by smooth talk and flattery they deceive the hearts of the naïve." (Romans 16:17-18) Please read "The Comments Policy."

