Scott Walker, Evolution, and Media Idiocy

WalkerAs Governor Scott Walker of Wisconsin begins to gear up for a potential presidential run in 2016, he’s been showing up more and more in my news feed. As the media continues to dig for dirt behind his reasons for dropping out of college, the media has determined to jump all over the fact that he effectively refused to answer the question, “Do you believe in evolution?” I should point out that the question was posed while he was at a trade summit, leading me to wonder what the question had to do with the immediate situation.

For the sake of full disclosure, I should point out at this point that I was in the middle of a summer internship in Wisconsin when Gov. Walker faced a recall election, and I’ve kept my eye on him ever since. After all, the last man anybody saw play real hardball with labor unions was Ronald Reagan. I should also point out, again for the sake of full disclosure, that I’ve never voted for a major party political figure since I’ve been eligible to vote; I’m way too conservative for the modern Republican party, and in fact I have an equal amount of vituperation for both the Republicans and the Democrats. The only group I dislike more than the Republicrats are journalists.

That being said, when I saw this article appear in my news aggregator, I groaned. Were I a candidate for public office and had this question posed to me, I would have needed to wipe the drool from my chin. The reporter is obviously intending to blind side the governor with what I can only characterize as a “Gotcha!” question. The obvious goal is to make the man look like a moron.

Before I die, I’d kill to hear that conversation proceed along these lines:

“Mr. Governor, do you believe in the theory of evolution?”

“Well, before I answer that question, I’d like to know are you referring to punctuated equilibrium or phyletic gradualism? I can wait.”

“Um…”

I’d just like to point out that whenever this question comes up (and God help me, I get asked this one a lot), the minute I ask for the questioner to define their terms, all I get in response is completely blank stare. You’d think I had asked them if blue sleeps faster than Tuesday. In reality, when people trot out “the theory of evolution,” the vast majority of them have no idea what they’re talking about. In fact, if you really want to make them feel like total clowns, I’d recommend asking them how the total improbability of gradualism caused the multiverse theory. In fact, an infinite number of universes must be posited to make the probability of random gradualism non-zero.

“By all means, sir, since you graduated from journalism school, perhaps you can tell me the rate of constant change that’s necessary for genetic complexity to have gone from zero to what it is now randomly? Surely you’ve done the math on this complex question, right?”

Let’s just note that these are the same media idiots that presume to know exactly how and when every bit of life on this planet originated, but they can’t possibly tell you if life begins at conception. Ironic, isn’t it?

"I appeal to you, brothers, to watch out for those who cause divisions and create obstacles contrary to the doctrine that you have been taught; avoid them. For such persons do not serve our Lord Christ, but their own appetites, and by smooth talk and flattery they deceive the hearts of the naïve." (Romans 16:17-18) Please read "The Comments Policy."

